So you're kinda looking for a "I want to allow this software to do whatever it wants - I accept all risks?" button? And with each new update you're re-evaluate?
"I want to allow the software to talk to devices on my local network", not "whatever it wants".
I've never had a case of this where the access was malicious, and devices on my network have security controls. For me this popup is exceptionally low value.
You can allow-list certain IP address ranges to not need the local network permission and I believe that should stop the popup from appearing (but I'm not sure). See https://developer.apple.com/documentation/technotes/tn3179-u... for more information, TL;DR:
I did that yesterday after updating from macOS 14 to 15 on my work laptop; well, added "10.0.0.0/8" too. Spent a few hours trying to understand that that new permission thing simply couldn't work with my Emacs launch agent (service)... fucking Apple treating CLI users like dirt.
I don't know what Apple is looking for. The iPhone ships with a Weather app preinstalled, you allow it to your location so it can warn of severe weather, and several weeks later "OMG WEATHER APP IS USING YOUR LOCATION!!11!".
Same with MDM agents. Ours are installed automatically as part of the Apple Business Manager configuration, we manually grant them precise location in the background, and months later "HEY USER, WANNA BLOCK LOCATION FROM 'MDM SERVICE'?".
Edit: To avoid replying to the two following comments with the same reply, my gripe is not about the notification, that's a good thing; my gripe is with their implementation, which seems very in tune with Apple's way of complying with regulations. There are definitely many user-friendly ways to handle privacy compared to seemingly random notifications.
The first scenario is due to anti-trust complaints forcing Apple to treat their pre-installed apps identically to third-party ones. (Also why you can "delete" system apps.)
Okay, to me it reads like a lazy swipe. You seem to be aware of the power of AI to build you whatever you want, so why ask this question like this? It seems like you're just trying to tell people they should fully trust the software they install.
So you're kinda looking for a "I want to allow this software to do whatever it wants - I accept all risks?" button? And with each new update you're re-evaluate?
> So you're kinda looking for a "I want to allow this software to do whatever it wants - I accept all risks?" button?
Yes.
> And with each new update you're re-evaluate?
No. Hope that helps.
"I want to allow the software to talk to devices on my local network", not "whatever it wants".
I've never had a case of this where the access was malicious, and devices on my network have security controls. For me this popup is exceptionally low value.
The malicious use is tracking. It can track who you know, where you live, what you own.
Yeah. That’s how installing an exe has worked for a long time.
[flagged]
C'mon they meant 'executable' more broadly, not literally a '.exe' Windows program.
Some people like to live dangerously!
You can allow-list certain IP address ranges to not need the local network permission and I believe that should stop the popup from appearing (but I'm not sure). See https://developer.apple.com/documentation/technotes/tn3179-u... for more information, TL;DR:
I did that yesterday after updating from macOS 14 to 15 on my work laptop; well, added "10.0.0.0/8" too. Spent a few hours trying to understand that that new permission thing simply couldn't work with my Emacs launch agent (service)... fucking Apple treating CLI users like dirt.
Thanks for writing and then sharing this document. (Kidding. Thanks though.)
Sometimes you need to use a particular piece of software but don't want all of its functionality. You're allowed to want some but not all.
I don't know what Apple is looking for. The iPhone ships with a Weather app preinstalled, you allow it to your location so it can warn of severe weather, and several weeks later "OMG WEATHER APP IS USING YOUR LOCATION!!11!".
Same with MDM agents. Ours are installed automatically as part of the Apple Business Manager configuration, we manually grant them precise location in the background, and months later "HEY USER, WANNA BLOCK LOCATION FROM 'MDM SERVICE'?".
Edit: To avoid replying to the two following comments with the same reply, my gripe is not about the notification, that's a good thing; my gripe is with their implementation, which seems very in tune with Apple's way of complying with regulations. There are definitely many user-friendly ways to handle privacy compared to seemingly random notifications.
The first scenario is due to anti-trust complaints forcing Apple to treat their pre-installed apps identically to third-party ones. (Also why you can "delete" system apps.)
Doubly annoying as it asks for the widget separately.
So many smart people and yet such a stupid timeline. Usability psychology is well documented.
That was due to antitrust pressure such that they did not self-prefer their own apps.
You'd think that would force them to make the third party app experience as good as the first party app experience. Instead, they did the opposite...
Seems like this is a signal that they in fact take the privacy concerns seriously?
If they took the privacy concerns seriously it wouldn't take anti-trust pressure for this to happen.
I didn't say you weren't. I'm asking for myself, not for you.
Okay, to me it reads like a lazy swipe. You seem to be aware of the power of AI to build you whatever you want, so why ask this question like this? It seems like you're just trying to tell people they should fully trust the software they install.
No, I'm very obviously not, and the only lazy swipe was your response.
I assume that is a quick fork and publish, but seems scary lol
[dead]