I’ve seen another app do that but for a different reason. It’s for security cameras and they use it to show a “hey idiot just press the save a picture button, don’t take screenshots” popup, which is also hostile.
I’m not sure why the app needs to be notified. There must be some use but I can’t think of it off the top of my head.