The difference between exporting and saving is extremely important, and is something the user must understand in order to prevent data loss.

And Gimp users are not more likely to know that? It adds up to extra clicks for 90% of the images I load.

how does the save/export distinction result in extra clicks? they are in the same menu right below each other. pick the right one. if you don't know you may pick the wrong one the first time, but after that you know. i find it faster than having to choose the format i want from a "save as" dialog

You just reminded me of a great feature that I think I first noticed in The Gimp: you don't have to search through the list of file types when exporting (I almost typed "saving"!), just type the extension in the file name and it'll save in that format! Love that part.

It's when I want to close the image or the application - the extra click to confirm that, yes, I am aware this image was not "saved" and that I could be losing data. I admit I have not looked into whether I can disable that extra notification.