I have a similar question: how do I stop Google photos asking me to update every time I open it?
"You're missing out
Update your Google photos app for the newest features"
... I have zero interest in updating. I'm not missing out on anything... other than being able to browse my photos without this annoying message getting in the way.
This is exactly why I don't use it and have it disabled. The arrogance of that message is stunning. I use Aves and it works just fine.